Executive Committee  

Ambassadors of AgMIP who set Strategic Direction & Partnerships and deliver AgMIP mission


John Antle
Oregon State University, USA

Dr. John Antle is a Professor in the Department of Applied Economics at Oregon State University and a University Fellow at Resources for the Future. His AgMIP research contributions focus on the sustainability of agricultural systems in industrialized and developing countries, including climate change impacts, adaptation and mitigation in agriculture; assessment of environmental and social impacts of agricultural technologies; and geologic carbon sequestration. He is a Fellow and past President of the American Agricultural Economics Association and serves as Co-Leader of the AgMIP Regional Economics team.

Senthold Asseng
University of Florida, USA

Dr. Senthold Asseng is a Professor in the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department at University of Florida. He has contributed to AgMIP in many capacities. Most notably, as a Co-Leader of the AgMIP-Wheat team, Dr. Asseng has been at the forefront of both US-based and internationally-organized research projects and his work has helped set the standard for AgMIP crop model intercomparisons. Additionally, Dr. Asseng has developed and linked AgMIP networks both regionally and globally, and his commitment to expanding the AgMIP network for the betterment of research is extremely valuable.

Mario Herrero
Cornell University, USA

Dr. Mario Herrero is a professor of sustainable food systems and global change in the Department of Global Development, a Cornell Atkinson Scholar, and a Nancy and Peter Meinig Family Investigator in the Life Sciences. His research focuses on increasing the sustainability of food systems for the benefit of humans and ecosystems. Mario is a regular contributor to important global initiatives at the heart of the sustainability of global food systems, such as the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the UN Food Systems Summit, the Lancet Commission on Obesity and the EAT-Lancet Commission on healthy diets from sustainable food systems. 

Hermann Lotze-Campen
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impacts Research (PIK) and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU), Germany

Dr. Hermann Lotze-Campen is Co-Chair of the Research Department Climate Resilience at PIK and Professor of Sustainable Land Use and Climate Change at HU Berlin. He is Co-Leader of the AgMIP Global Economics Team and is committed to linking global analysis with Regional Integrated Assessments. Moreover, he is also committed to connecting AgMIP work beyond AgMIP communities. He is a member of the Inter-Sectoral Impact Model Intercomparison Project (ISIMIP), coordinated at PIK, and is eager to strengthen connections between initiatives.

Cynthia Rosenzweig
NASA-Goddard Institute for Space Studies (GISS) and Columbia University, USA

Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig is Senior Research Scientist at NASA GISS, Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at the Columbia University Climate School and a Professor in the Department of Environmental Science at Barnard College. She heads the Climate Impacts Group at NASA GISS whose mission is to investigate the interactions of climate (both variability and change) on systems and sectors important to human well-being. In 2019, Dr. Rosenzweig was Coordinating Lead Author of the Food Security Chapter for the IPCC Special Report on Climate Change and Land. She was named as the 2022 World Food Prize Laureate.

Laure Tall
Initiative Prospective Agricole et Rurale, Senegal

Dr. Laure Tall is an agroecologist and the Research Director of IPAR (Initiative Prospective Agricole et Rurale), a West African think tank based in Senegal. Before that, Dr. Tall was a researcher at the Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles (ISRA), where she held the positions of Director of the National Research Laboratory on Plant Production (LNRPV) and Co-Director of the International Joint Laboratory on Ecological Intensification on Cultivated Soils in West Africa (LMI IESOL). She has been the focal point for the Global Research Alliance on Paddy Rice for Senegal. Her goal is to contribute to evidence-based decision making for development in Africa.

Geethalakshmi Vellingiri
Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, India

Dr. Geethalakshmi Vellingiri is the Director for the Crop Management Directorate in the Tamil Nadu Agricultural University in India. She has contributed to AgMIP by leading the Southern India team and her research contributions focus on the sustainability of agricultural systems in small farm holders of water stressed river basins in Southern Indian States amidst the changing climate. She is a Fellow of Association of Agrometeorology and served as Co-Chair for developing “Science Technology Innovation Policy – 2020 (STIP-2020)” of Government of India for Agriculture, Water and Food Security thematic group (TG 02).

Anthony Whitbread
International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Tanzania

Dr. Anthony Whitbread is a Principal Scientist and lead for ILRI’s Sustainable Intensification agenda, and a Professor and former Chair of the Crop Production Systems in the Tropics, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. He has been a key partner with AgMIP in its Regional Research Team work to develop and utilize Regional Integrated Assessments and has made strong contributions to agricultural modeling by promoting a diverse range of modeling frameworks (including livestock), tools, and scales to meet the stakeholders’ needs. His work throughout the CGIAR centers has connected modelers, researchers, and stakeholders across the globe.


Jerry Hatfield (retired, January, 2020)
US Department of Agriculture – Agricultural Research Service, USA

Dr. Jerry L. Hatfield has recently retired from his role as the Laboratory Director of the USDA-ARS National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment. His personal research focuses on quantifying the interactions among the components of the soil-plant-atmosphere system to quantify resilience of cropping systems to climate change. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America, and past President of the American Society of Agronomy. Dr. Hatfield serves as Co-Leader of the AgMIP Crop-Water-ET Initiative.