AgMIP Establishes A New Executive Committee

Oct 20, 2017


The Steering Council Co-Chairs of the Agricultural Model Intercomparison and Improvement Program announce the newly established Executive Committee, and its members.

By: Greg Reppucci

The evolution in leadership from Co-Principal Investigators to an Executive Committee reflects the growing interest in, and impact of, scientific contributions of the AgMIP community through its global network of researchers.

The Executive Committee Members are: John Antle, Senthold Asseng, Jerry Hatfield, Hermann Lotze-Campen, Cynthia Rosenzweig and Anthony Whitbread. 

The Members of the Executive Committee are internationally recognized leaders for their sustained scientific and technical contributions to agricultural sciences, and they will play a major role in developing the AgMIP scientific pillars, partnerships, protocols, and projects, with active participation of AgMIP researchers and sponsors. In so doing, they will advance the rigor and impact of agricultural systems research undertaken by the AgMIP community. Each Member serves at the invitation of the Steering Council, and with the support and endorsement of their home institution, where they retain their primary appointment.

The Steering Council, on behalf of the international AgMIP community, congratulates the Members on their appointment in this new role, and thanks them in advance for their generous offer of time and energy to ensure a vibrant and responsive AgMIP for the years to come. We recognize, and greatly appreciate the Members’ demonstrated research and leadership capacities, and their commitment to:

  • Develop new initiatives to keep AgMIP at the forefront of agricultural systems research and modeling
  • Lead development of major research, capacity development, and science communication proposals
  • Contribute to shared fundraising in support of AgMIP coordination including major topical workshops and support for collaboration on research projects and activities
  • Provide scientific and technical oversight to AgMIP science pillars and related activities
  • Serve as AgMIP Ambassadors to national and international meetings and forums
  • Engage regularly with the AgMIP community to review and advance research plans and priorities
  • Recruit researchers, stakeholders and sponsors to support and implement AgMIP plans and priorities

About the Executive Committee Members

John Antle, Oregon State University, USA 

Dr. John Antle is a Professor in the Department of Applied Economics at Oregon State University and a University Fellow at Resources for the Future. His AgMIP research contributions focus on the sustainability of agricultural systems in industrialized and developing countries, including climate change impacts, adaptation and mitigation in agriculture; assessment of environmental and social impacts of agricultural technologies; and geologic carbon sequestration. He is a Fellow and past President of the American Agricultural Economics Association and serves as Co-Leader of the AgMIP Regional Economics team.

Senthold Asseng, University of Florida, USA 

Dr. Senthold Asseng is a Professor in the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department at University of Florida. He has contributed to AgMIP in many capacities. Most notably, as a Co-Leader of the AgMIP-Wheat team, Dr. Asseng has been at the forefront of both US-based and internationally-organized research projects and his work has helped set the standard for AgMIP crop model intercomparisons. Additionally, Dr. Asseng has developed and linked AgMIP networks both regionally and globally, and his commitment to expanding the AgMIP network for the betterment of research is extremely valuable.

Jerry Hatfield, US Department of Agriculture – Agricultural Research Service, USA

Dr. Jerry L. Hatfield is currently the Laboratory Director of the USDA-ARS National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment. His personal research focuses on quantifying the interactions among the components of the soil-plant-atmosphere system to quantify resilience of cropping systems to climate change. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America, and past President of the American Society of Agronomy. Dr. Hatfield serves as Co-Leader of the AgMIP Crop-Water-ET Initiative.

Hermann Lotze-Campen, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impacts Research (PIK) and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU), Germany

Dr. Hermann Lotze-Campen is Chair of Research Domain Climate Impacts and Vulnerabilities at PIK and Professor of Sustainable Land Use and Climate Change at HU Berlin. He is Co-Leader of the AgMIP Global Economics Team and is committed to linking global analysis with Regional Integrated Assessments. Moreover, he is also committed to connecting AgMIP work beyond AgMIP communities. He is a member of the Inter-Sectoral Impact Model Intercomparison Project (ISIMIP), coordinated in his Research Domain at PIK, and is eager to strengthen connections between initiatives.

Cynthia Rosenzweig, NASA-Goddard Institute for Space Studies (GISS) and Columbia University, USA 

Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig is Senior Research Scientist at NASA GISS where she heads the Climate Impacts Group. She is also Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at the Columbia University Earth Institute and a Professor in the Department of Environmental Science at Barnard College. She is currently spearheading the AgMIP Coordinated Global and Regional Assessment on the effects of climate change on the food system, including nutrition. Dr. Rosenzweig is also Coordinating Lead Author of the Food Security Chapter for the IPCC Special Report on Climate Change and Land.

Anthony Whitbread, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), India

Dr. Anthony Whitbread is Research Program Director of the Innovations Systems in the Drylands, ICRISAT, and a Professor and former Chair of the Crop Production Systems in the Tropics, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. He has been a key partner with AgMIP in its Regional Research Team work to develop and utilize Regional Integrated Assessments and has made strong contributions to agricultural modeling by promoting a diverse range of modeling frameworks (including livestock), tools, and scales to meet the stakeholders’ needs. His work throughout the CGIAR centers has connected modelers, researchers, and stakeholders across the globe.

Contributed by: Ghassem R. Asrar, PhD, Director of the Joint Global Change Research Institute at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, University of Maryland, and AgMIP Steering Council Co-Chair, and Jean-François Soussana, PhD, Vice-President for International Policy at INRA, the French National Institute for Agricultural Research, and AgMIP Steering Council Co-Chair.

Contact: Carolyn Z. Mutter, PhD, AgMIP International Program Manager (